February 2, 2013

I grew up in Guadalajara, Mexico. Every afternoon from 2 – 4 pm the city came to a halt. Shops closed. People ate their lunches then took a nap. It’s called a siesta in Spanish. I love naps. Maybe that’s reason, maybe not. But I do love naps. Many countries have this tradition. The timing may be a bit different, but it’s still a nice chunk of time in the middle of the day to eat and take a nap. I often wish we could adopt this tradition in this country, but we’re so driven, we hardly have time to stop for lunch, so a nap is out of the question.
Today I’m home. I woke up, had some coffee. Did a few chores. Ate lunch and now I get to have my siesta. It’s my day off. My day to go against the American norm.
Today I’m grateful that I get to revert to my childhood traditions and take my siesta. Don’t envy me. Just start your own tradition of siestas. Maybe we’ll change the world 🙂

Leave a comment